Granny’s sewing box

When I mentioned to my Dad that I was starting to sew, he said that he had something he thought I’d like. I saw him last night and he gave me my Granny’s sewing box! It’s a little wooden chest of drawers and is full of things like threads in all sorts of colours, zips, elastic, bias binding and bits of ribbon. It’s an absolute treasure trove and I feel very honoured to have it.

Sewing box

I don’t think it was originally a sewing box because here’s a pic of the label on the back:

sewingbox_label4

And here are a couple pics of the contents (courtesy of my husband who was unimpressed at my attempts at taking artistic photos and so took them himself!)

Sewing box thread

Sewing box ribbon

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashley
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 23:08:52

    What a sweet heirloom. And how kind of your father to not only save it with everything still intact, but to give it to you.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Aug 02, 2009 @ 11:43:34

      I’m definitely really lucky to have it. But I now have a dilemma! Do I use up the threads or do I keep them for their sentimental value? Maybe I should only use them in special quilts? Or maybe use most of them and keep a couple? Decisions, decisions…

      Reply

  2. ashley
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 21:50:24

    I would definitely save the thread and notions to make a quilt for your own children/nieces/nephews when the time comes. In fact, I have a friend who is a fabric artist and she made an amazing crazy quilt out of all memento fabric, baby outfits, the dad’s dress shirts, the mom’s dresses, etc… Really cool!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Aug 03, 2009 @ 21:32:30

      I think that sounds like a plan. It’s confusing my husband though, who can’t understand why I need _more_ thread, when I already have a whole boxful!

      Reply

  3. Louise
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:45:07

    I’m very jealous of this. My threads (the ones my daughter hasn’t pinched, anyway) are in an old margarine tub. I saw a set of drawers very similar to yours in a local antique shop a few weeks ago and thought it would be perfect for threads, but the shop was closed and when I went back later the chest had gone… 😦

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Aug 04, 2009 @ 21:08:59

      That’s really bad luck, missing out on that. Fingers crossed another one will shop up. Alternatively, have you looked on ebay? I was having a look the other day and they have lots of cool sewing boxes.

      Reply

      • Louise
        Aug 05, 2009 @ 16:21:21

        Ebay is very dangerous for me – I try to steer clear! I usually end up bidding on all sorts of useless stuff – which would be fine if I ever used the site to get rid of any of my own useless stuff, but somehow I never do… Sigh. Safer to confine myself to peering through the antique shop window every so often. 🙂

      • whatktmadenext
        Aug 06, 2009 @ 22:34:19

        Yep, ebay is a dangerous place! It’s especially dangerous at the moment as I find myself idly searching for things like jelly rolls and fat quarters. Must… stay… away… !

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

