Choosing binding fabric

I was in a fabric shop at the weekend trying to pick fabric for my second baby quilt. I couldn’t work out what to choose, so one of the sales assistants gave me the following tips:

  1. Pick a small print because the binding is so small, you don’t see the effect of big prints
  2. When you find a possible fabric, lay it underneath your quilt top so that just a small amount, the width of your binding, is visible. This makes it far easier to picture what it will look like.

She was right. Especially the 2nd point. The fabric I choose doesn’t look right when placed beside my quilt top. It’s too much and overwhelms the colours in the patchwork. But if I tuck it under so that there’s just a thin strip visible, I think it works much better:

Binding beside quilt topBinding underneath quilt top

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

