Gadgets!

So I decided to order some gadgets and they’ve just arrived! I now have the basics needed for rotary cutting: a 6″ x 24″ Omnigrip ruler, an 18″ x 24″ OmniMat and a 45mm deluxe olfa rotary cutter. The cutter has a safety button plus the blade is only extended when you grip the handle. I figure this is probably a good idea because other rotary cutters require you to manually retract the blade each time you put it down and I’m sure I’d forget to do this!

I also bought a 12.5″  square Omnigrip ruler as baby quilt 3 needs 12″ blocks, a white pencil for marking quilting patterns and a template from Marti Michell for cutting dog ears off triangles as apparently that makes them easier to align and sew together.

I haven’t used any of them yet, but I’m looking forward to the weekend when I can try cutting the boarders and binding for baby quilt 2.

Oh and there are two different types of Omnigrid rulers, Omnigrid and Omnigrip. It took me a while to work out the difference (other than £2!)  but I finally realised that Omnigrip have a special backing which is meant to prevent the ruler grip the fabric and stop it sliding when you’re cutting.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

