Completed: Baby Quilt 1

I’ve finished my first quilt!!! I’m both pleasantly surprised and very proud of how it turned out. I really didn’t think it would look quite so much like a real quilt. I was more expecting a kind of haphazard affair which looked a bit odd, but wow, everything seemed to work out!

So here is my quilt. Its a patchwork top with a layer of 80:20 cotton/polyester wadding and backed with plain pink fabric. I machine quilted it and bound it by folding the backing fabric over to the front of the quilt. Here’s the finished result:

Baby Quilt 1 - Completed

So what were the top 3 things I learnt from from making this quilt?

  1. Making a quilt is harder work than I thought it would be. It’s quite an effort to get the whole thing through the machine during the quilting phase.
  2. Self-binding is HARD. It was hard to pin and get the edges aligned and although it’s not obvious, some of the binding didn’t catch the edge of the patchwork top, so some of that fabric isn’t secure. I’m going to try double-fold binding on my next quilt as it looks easier.
  3. Investing in good quality fabric is important. Some of my fabric is very thin and kind of see-through. You get what you pay for, I guess.

All in all, I really enjoyed making my first quilt and I’m really excited about learning more on my second. I’m hanging on to this quilt, but hopefully the next one is going to be a present for one of my friends who had a baby last week. Fingers crossed it turns out well…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashley
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 22:01:26

    That is such a truly adorable quilt! Great job, K!!

    Reply

  2. Louise
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:05:59

    I love this quilt too. Well done!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Aug 04, 2009 @ 21:09:37

      Thanks Louise 🙂 I’m kinda glad I don’t have to give this one away. I just love the colours so much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

